Meet a Wedding Planner in Chicago, IL: Ashley Nicole Events, Inc.

Photo Credit: Jazi Photo

Today’s wedding planner interview is with Ashley of Ashley Nicole Events, Inc., based in Chicago, Illinois! Enjoy:

Tell us a bit about yourself and your company.

My name is Ashley Radosav and I have been planning events for almost 11 years! I love taking someone’s dream and turning it into a reality. (Minus all of the potential logistical nightmares!)

Read the full interview after the cut!

Meet a Wedding Planner in Chicago, IL: Ashley Nicole Events, Inc. (5)

Meet a Wedding Planner in Chicago, IL: Ashley Nicole Events, Inc. (4)

Meet a Wedding Planner in Chicago, IL: Ashley Nicole Events, Inc. (3)

Meet a Wedding Planner in Chicago, IL: Ashley Nicole Events, Inc. (2)

Meet a Wedding Planner in Chicago, IL: Ashley Nicole Events, Inc. (1)

How did you get into wedding planning?

I went to school for crime scene investigation but after a semester I realized that I was not going to be happy if I did not follow my passion for making others happy. I love serving others in a way that is not typically thought of. I am able to listen to their needs and take their stress away. My clients have nothing to worry about the day of the event. I have the knowledge, know-how and passion to turn even the biggest day-of mess into something that resembles a perfectly executed event.

Photo Credit: Jazi Photo

What’s your favorite part of the job?

There are many challenges that come with planning someone’s “biggest day of their life” How can you possibly let them down? Along the way, there are tons of questions, emotions and first experiences. My calm, happy place is 5 minutes before the guests arrive and everything is peaceful. All of the candles are lit, the tables look pristine and no drunk groomsmen has decided to start taking his shirt off. I cherish those *hopefully, fingers crossed* 5 minutes of calm before the storm.

What’s the biggest lesson you’ve learned, and would pass along to other new wedding planners just getting started?

Each event I plan I learn something new. I never stop learning in this industry. You prepare for all possible situations and the very next client has you stumped yet again. I would tell new planners to stay organized. Some people work better with all digital files, some work better with printing every piece of paper off to carry to appointments. Figure out what works for you and go with it. Also, never respond to emails upset. They ALWAYS backfire.

Photo Credit: Being Joy Photography

What are your hobbies or non-work-related activities?

I work two full time jobs currently so “non-work related activities” usually involve falling asleep on the couch watching Netflix or taking walks with my husband and our two dogs. I have discovered that it is the small things in life that are the things that truly matter. Sunday’s after weddings or events are family days spent with those closest to me.

Any great stories from working with a client?

The story that sticks out to me the most is rather a sad story. I assisted a wedding where the bride called of the wedding 1 hour before she was supposed to walk down the aisle. She was the strongest person I met because she showed up to her reception and announced to the room that she was now single and ready to mingle. When others would cry and hide away from embarrassment, she embraced the love and support her friends and family showered her with. Needless to say, we had to turn a “wedding” into an “anti-wedding” in 30 minutes flat. Challenge accepted.

What is your current favorite color combination?

I am currently loving Rose Quarts, black and gold. They are my brand colors, so I am a little biased. (Yay, to me picking the color of the year before it was announced!) However, I love some good charcoal and plum action.

Photo Credit: Being Joy Photography

Are there any trends that you absolutely love or would love to see brides leave behind?

I am still a little in love with the barn wedding, I have a desire to plan an epic rustic, chic barn/chandelier covered wedding before the trend totally nose dives off a cliff. On the other hand, tulle needs to go away and never return. If I never see another head table covered in white Christmas lights and tulle, it would be too soon.

What tips or advice can you give to couples who are in the midst of planning?

I can imagine I could get a lot of flack from saying this, but I honestly do not care about your “wedding” Whether you choose pink and grey or blue and yellow, it does not really matter in the long run. It all looks beautiful. What does matter to me is your marriage. I want to see the love two people share and know that they will be able to survive the “planning.” Trends come and go and there is always the meddlesome aunt. If they still have that light in their eyes after 20 years, that is what is the most important. I am pretty sure the “party” will be a success even if the napkins were folded incorrectly. Though, by hiring me, they won’t be. 😉

Photo Credit: Jazi Photo

Wonderful, thanks Ashley! For more information about Ashley Nicole Events, Inc., please visit her WeddingLovely Vendor Guide profile or head straight to her website.

Do you have any questions or comments for Ashley? Add them to the comments below!

This post Meet a Wedding Planner in Chicago, IL: Ashley Nicole Events, Inc. originally appeared on WeddingLovely Blog.

Leave a Reply

