Meet a Wedding Photographer in Los Angeles, CA: Victoria Johansson Photography

Today’s photographer interview is with Victoria of Victoria Johansson Photography, based in Southern California

Tell us a bit about yourself and your company.

Oh where to start! Hmmm… my name is Victoria, and I am a wife, in love with our two beautiful pups, and almost always on the road to somewhere. Photography has been a passion of mine for as long as I can remember, and the main reason for that, is that I love telling stories. An image can convey so many things, and as I often struggle to put words to emotions, I let my images do the talking. My philosophy is based on the principle of being authentic, timeless and emotive, and I try to make sure that every image I create conveys those qualities.

Read the full interview after the cut!

Meet a Wedding Photographer in Los Angeles, CA: Victoria Johansson Photography (9)

Meet a Wedding Photographer in Los Angeles, CA: Victoria Johansson Photography (8)

Meet a Wedding Photographer in Los Angeles, CA: Victoria Johansson Photography (7)

Meet a Wedding Photographer in Los Angeles, CA: Victoria Johansson Photography (6)

Meet a Wedding Photographer in Los Angeles, CA: Victoria Johansson Photography (5)

Meet a Wedding Photographer in Los Angeles, CA: Victoria Johansson Photography (4)

Meet a Wedding Photographer in Los Angeles, CA: Victoria Johansson Photography (3)

Meet a Wedding Photographer in Los Angeles, CA: Victoria Johansson Photography (2)

Meet a Wedding Photographer in Los Angeles, CA: Victoria Johansson Photography (1)

How did you get into wedding photography?

I have always photographed (I may have known how to take a picture before I could walk, as my mum had a dark room at our house when I was growing up), and I got into weddings 3 years ago, when I did a wedding for a friend. From there on I was hooked, and I knew that I wanted to spend my time capturing the beautiful stories that make up a wedding day.

What is your favorite part of the wedding day to capture?

Oh, just about everything. I love all of it. I am a storyteller at heart, and every single part of the wedding day plays a role in the final story I am telling. It’s about the way the bride’s mother looks at her, as the bride is getting into her dress. It’s about how the dad squeezes his daughter’s hand, before she walks down the aisle. It’s all about the little details, and the little glances, that are so easily missed. I truly feel that it’s the smallest details that tell the biggest story.

What is the most awkward moment you’ve experienced while on the job?

I can’t think of a single moment that stands out, but one thing that does make things fairly awkward at a lot of the weddings I have photographed, is a lack of time planning and management. I cannot stress how important it is to have a well laid out timeline, and to assign someone to keep everything on track. (Whether that is your wedding planner, or your maid of honour, having someone designated to keep track of things will make your day go so much smoother.)

What is your favorite venue and why?

No one favourite venue, but in general, I love nature and open spaces. A wedding on the beach, on a mountain, in the desert, or in the middle of the forest, is just about as perfect as it can get in my book.

Nikon or Canon?

Nikon, but it’s really not about the camera, as much as it’s about the photographer. Right now Nikon is ahead of Canon for their dynamic range and ISO capabilities, but that swings back and forth between the two as new models come out each year.

What is your dream location to shoot a wedding?

Just the bride and groom on top of a mountain. A small and intimate wedding, focusing on their love for each other, in probably the grandest location I can imagine.

If you could shoot any celebrity wedding (past, present or future), who would be the lucky couple?

Ha, I am a bit of an oddball, and don’t spend too much time following the celebrity circuit, so I am going to pick a famous person, rather than a celebrity, hopefully that is still ok. For me, it would have been Kofi Annan (former General-Secretary of the UN) and Nane Lagergren’s wedding. I just imagine them to be a very low key couple, who married for love, and who probably had a wedding full of laughter and joy. There is just something about weddings like that, that makes my heart sing.

What’s the biggest lesson you’ve learned, and would pass along to other new wedding photographers just getting started?

It would actually be two things. The first one is to learn to see the light. No matter where you are photographing, and no matter what you are photographing- learn to see the light, and the rest will fall into place automatically. The second thing I would tell anyone just getting started, is to stay true to themselves. In a world where most photographers know of each other and see each other’s work on a daily basis, it is very easy to lose track of what is authentic and what is real. I have seen some fantastic beginner photographers, who over time lose their signature touch, and become just like everyone else, and to me, that is just incredibly sad, and such a waste of a great talent. No field- science- or art- has ever been progressed by people choosing to conform.

What tips or advice can you give to couples who are looking to hire a photographer to cover their big day?

Pick someone who you actually like as a person, and who makes you feel comfortable, and make sure that the photographer’s images speak to you. This will be one of the few things you will have to remember the day by, so chose someone who can tell your story the way you want it to be told.

Thanks Victoria! For more information about Victoria Johansson Photography, please visit her WeddingLovely Vendor Guide profile or head straight to her website.

Do you have any questions or comments for Victoria? Add them to the comments below!

This post Meet a Wedding Photographer in Los Angeles, CA: Victoria Johansson Photography originally appeared on WeddingLovely Blog.

Leave a Reply

