Meet a Wedding Vendor in Ann Arbor, MI: Northern Royal

6-8 Wedding Lovely 0

Today’s wedding vendor interview is with jewelry designer  Kyle Walling, founder of Northern Royal, based in Ann Arbor, Michigan! Enjoy:

Tell us a bit about yourself and your company.

Northern Royal all started because of a crazy love story. That love story would be my wife and I. I met my beautiful wife in Ontario, Canada and I was originally from southern Michigan. Our first summer together we practically spent every hot sunny day at the beach and ended our summer nights parked under the moonlight sky down some back country road in Canada. During the most magical summer, we also started an Etsy Store in which we really enjoyed. Once we got married we decided to close our Etsy store and create our own website which is now called Northern Royal.

Read the full interview after the cut!

Meet a Wedding Vendor in Ann Arbor, MI: Northern Royal (6)

Meet a Wedding Vendor in Ann Arbor, MI: Northern Royal (5)

Meet a Wedding Vendor in Ann Arbor, MI: Northern Royal (4)

Meet a Wedding Vendor in Ann Arbor, MI: Northern Royal (3)

Meet a Wedding Vendor in Ann Arbor, MI: Northern Royal (2)

Meet a Wedding Vendor in Ann Arbor, MI: Northern Royal (1)

How did you get into the business?

The truth is, I got into the business when my wife and I were looking for wedding bands. After going into 100 jewelry stores, getting attacked by salesmen, and realizing all the stores had the same rings is when the sparked happen….Northern Royal.

What’s your favorite part of the job?

One of my favorite parts of the job is when I help a customer find that perfect ring that is going to symbolize the greatest day of their life.

If you could pick one unique product or service offering, which would be your favorite, and why?

Oh gee, this is tough. My favorite collection that we offer are all the men’s  wood wedding bands. I love these rings because they are truly some of the most unique wedding bands you will find.

What’s the biggest lesson you’ve learned, and would pass along to others just getting started in your field?

The biggest lesson I have learned is anything is possible when you want it bad enough.

What are your hobbies or non-work-related activities?

I started taking up product photography for Northern Royal but it is starting to become a hobby because I find myself taking the camera wherever my wife and I go! Also, my wife and I also enjoy traveling with our new puppy (goldendoodle).

Any great stories from working with a client?

Some of the greatest stories I hear is when a client tells me they have been looking forever for a wedding band and they finally found one on Northern Royal. It puts a smile on my face because I can totally relate to that.

What makes you different from others in your field?

There are a few things. First, we offer very unique mens wedding bands that you will not find at any other retail stores. Second, we also can guarantee that our rings are the same quality rings, if not better for a fraction of the price. Lastly, we are very transparent, starting with our free warranty to the descriptions we write about each ring.

Are there any trends that you absolutely love or would love to see brides leave behind?

Some of the trends that my wife and I love is the whole wedding DIY. We think it is so neat when people getting married actually make things on their wedding day. Such as wedding invitation, wood signs, favors and so forth. One of our favorite themes for wedding is probably the rustic theme but I am sure one day that will be out of style.

What tips or advice can you give to couples who are in the midst of planning their big day?

If you’re getting stressed just step away, breath, smile, and take every moment in because you will not want to forget it.

Photo Credit: Darren Hatt

Thanks Kyle! For more information about Northern Royal, please visit their WeddingLovely Vendor Guide profile or head straight to their website.

Do you have any questions or comments for Kyle? Add them to the comments below!

This post Meet a Wedding Vendor in Ann Arbor, MI: Northern Royal originally appeared on WeddingLovely Blog.

Leave a Reply

