Meet a Wedding Photographer in Old Orchard Beach, ME: Trina Dinnar Photography

Today’s wedding photographer interview is with Trina of Trina Dinnar Photography, based in Old Orchard Beach, Maine! Enjoy:

Tell us a bit about yourself and your company

I’m a Maine-based photographer specializing in telling love stories through timeless illustrative wedding photography. My philosophy is that wedding photography should capture should capture beautiful, authentic and timeless photographs of these significant moments in life. I take pride in allowing couples to relive the happiness, excitement, and all of the emotions that make their wedding day uniquely theirs. I love every moment of what I do: the wonderful people I meet, the amazing locations I travel to, and the ability to preserve memories that couples and their families will treasure for many years to come. When I’m not behind the camera, I enjoy spending time with my family, writing, and relaxing at the beach.

Read the full interview after the cut!

Meet a Wedding Photographer in Old Orchard Beach, ME: Trina Dinnar Photography (11) Meet a Wedding Photographer in Old Orchard Beach, ME: Trina Dinnar Photography (10) Meet a Wedding Photographer in Old Orchard Beach, ME: Trina Dinnar Photography (9) Meet a Wedding Photographer in Old Orchard Beach, ME: Trina Dinnar Photography (8) Meet a Wedding Photographer in Old Orchard Beach, ME: Trina Dinnar Photography (7) Meet a Wedding Photographer in Old Orchard Beach, ME: Trina Dinnar Photography (6) Meet a Wedding Photographer in Old Orchard Beach, ME: Trina Dinnar Photography (5) Meet a Wedding Photographer in Old Orchard Beach, ME: Trina Dinnar Photography (4) Meet a Wedding Photographer in Old Orchard Beach, ME: Trina Dinnar Photography (3) Meet a Wedding Photographer in Old Orchard Beach, ME: Trina Dinnar Photography (2) Meet a Wedding Photographer in Old Orchard Beach, ME: Trina Dinnar Photography (1)

How did you get into wedding photography?

While photography has been a part of my life for as long as I can remember, I did not think about pursuing it seriously until I was 38 weeks pregnant with my daughter. It was the first really significant moment in my life that I felt needed to be documented. I got my first DSLR camera and started learning through webinars, books, articles, and most of all, practice. About 8 months into my journey, people started asking me to take photos for them. That’s when I decided to start a business. The first couple of years, I did a little of everything: families, high school Seniors, newborns, etc. After photographing my first wedding in 2013, I fell in love with capturing love stories and creating something meaningful that would be treasured for generations.

What is your favorite part of the wedding day to capture?

Though I love capturing every part of a wedding, my favorite is capturing the bride and groom alone together. Some of my favorite images are produced when they have a quiet moment to spend together.

What is the most awkward moment you’ve experienced while on the job?

I will go through lengths to get the perfect shot, even if it means laying on the floor or climbing up on something. There have been a couple instances where I have fallen trying to get a photo from the perfect angle. I just laugh it off and keep shooting!

What is your favorite venue and why?

My favorite venue that I have photographed a wedding at so far has been the Nonantum Resort in Kennebunkport, Maine. Their rooms photograph beautifully and the property overlooks the ocean. Couples can even take a ride on a private sailboat. Also, the food is amazing!

Nikon or Canon?

Nikon. It just felt best in my hands so I just starting shooting with Nikon and have never looked back! I shoot with two Nikon D700 cameras.

What is your dream location to shoot a wedding?

I would love photograph a wedding at Searles Castle in Windham, New Hampshire. For a destination location, I would be thrilled to shoot a wedding in Ireland or Scotland!

If you could shoot any celebrity wedding (past, present or future), who would be the lucky couple?

Grace Kelly and Prince Rainier

What’s the biggest lesson you’ve learned, and would pass along to other new wedding photographers just getting started?

Network with local photographers. My first year doing weddings, I did everything by myself. I’m really lucky that nothing happened to prevent me from shooting because I didn’t know anyone who could take my place. Of course, that’s not the only reason to Network. Networking is a great way to get to know other  individuals in the industry and even learn a thing or two from them. Also, people remember you when they have met you. It’s good to have people in the industry know who you are. You never know when your name will come up for a recommendation or referral. Last but not least, it’s great having photographer friends you can relate with.

What tips or advice can you give to couples who are looking to hire a photographer to cover their big day?

I always recommend that couples meet with photographers they are potentially looking to hire, if at all possible. While questions can be answered on the phone or through email, it’s good to see if your personalities are a good fit. When a meeting is not possible, I recommend a Skype session, or other type of video call. I’ve found the more times I meet a couple before the wedding, the more relaxed and at ease they are in front of the camera.

Thanks Trina! For more information about Trina Dinnar Photography, please visit her WeddingLovely Vendor Guide profile or head straight to her website.

Do you have any questions or comments for Trina? Add them to the comments below!

This post Meet a Wedding Photographer in Old Orchard Beach, ME: Trina Dinnar Photography originally appeared on WeddingLovely Blog.

Leave a Reply

