Meet a Wedding Photographer in Seattle, WA: Vanasse Studios Photography

Today’s wedding photographer interview is with Tasha Vanasse of Vanasse Studios Photography, based in Seattle, WA! Enjoy:

Tell us a bit about yourself and your company

Oh, where to start… I’m Tasha, and I run Vanasse Studios Photography. I specialize in photographing couples who are madly in love. I live for little moments, because that’s what makes a rich and fulfilling existence. I’ve been photographing weddings for over 5 years, but have had an ongoing love affair with the camera most of my life. The ability to freeze time, to me, is incredible, and I couldn’t be more thrilled to call that my career. In my spare time (is there such a thing?) I hang out with my awesome photographer husband, our sweet baby daughter and our two rambunctious rescue dogs.

Read the full interview after the cut!

Meet a Wedding Photographer in Seattle, WA: Vanasse Studios Photography (6) Meet a Wedding Photographer in Seattle, WA: Vanasse Studios Photography (5) Meet a Wedding Photographer in Seattle, WA: Vanasse Studios Photography (4) Meet a Wedding Photographer in Seattle, WA: Vanasse Studios Photography (3) Meet a Wedding Photographer in Seattle, WA: Vanasse Studios Photography (2) Meet a Wedding Photographer in Seattle, WA: Vanasse Studios Photography (1)

How did you get into wedding photography?

I went to photography school with the intention of getting into the fashion industry. I quickly realized that my passion was with people, and the love that they share. Being present on someone’s wedding day to capture all the little moments that come and go so quickly is such an honor to me.

What is your favorite part of the wedding day to capture?

The moment right after the first look. First looks are awesome, and I highly recommend them to every couple, but there is something so magical about the moment right after. The pressure is off, and the couple often has this beautiful moment when they stare into each other’s eyes and realize “whoah. we’re getting married. that’s rad.” I love it.

What is the most awkward moment you’ve experienced while on the job?

Oh, too many to count. But I’ve learned to laugh it off, because awkwardness is what makes life fun.

What is your favorite venue and why?

My favourite venues are usually private residences, only because they mean so much to the bride and groom. I photographed a wedding out in an orchard in Leavenworth, which was pretty incredible. If I had to choose, I’d say Red Cedar Farm in Poulsbo is a top pick for actual venues! It’s just such a fascinating place, filled with old arcade games, vintage goodies, and all sorts of interesting nooks and crannies to photograph.

Nikon or Canon?

Canon!

What is your dream location to shoot a wedding?

On top of a mountain, in the snow. Takers, anyone?

If you could shoot any celebrity wedding (past, present or future), who would be the lucky couple?

I prefer real people! 🙂

What’s the biggest lesson you’ve learned, and would pass along to other new wedding photographers just getting started?

Be patient. Not just with your business, but with your life in general. Things don’t always come together smoothly, and you have to wait it, fight it, sort it out as you go along.

What tips or advice can you give to couples who are looking to hire a photographer to cover their big day?

Look for someone you groove with. You’re going to be spending a lot of time with your photographer on your wedding day. Make sure they are someone you feel comfortable with, and whose vision matches well with your own. You’re not hiring a camera, you’re hiring a human. Also, be sure your photographer likes you as much as you do them. When that rad bond is mutual, magical stuff happens.

Lovely work Tasha, thank you! For more information about Vanasse Studios Photography, please visit their WeddingLovely Vendor Guide profile or head straight to their website.

Do you have any questions or comments for Tasha? Add them to the comments below!

This post Meet a Wedding Photographer in Seattle, WA: Vanasse Studios Photography originally appeared on WeddingLovely Blog.

Leave a Reply

